16 August 2006

Plan boosts solar system to 12 planets

The asteroid Ceres, which is round, would be recast as a dwarf planet in the new scheme.
Pluto would remain a planet, and its moon Charon would be reclassified as a planet. Both would be called "plutons," however, to distinguish them from the eight "classical" planets.
A far-out Pluto-sized object known as 2003 UB313, currently nicknamed Xena, would also be called a pluton.


Blogger shaners said...

I saw this on the frontpage of our local paper. I was wondering what it was all about. Looks like our neighborhood is getting bigger all the time. But really an asteroid being called a planet, hmmm dono 'bout that

7:05 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home

Web global-news-matrix.blogspot.com
Site Meter Locations of visitors to this page